The Citizen

Most Pakistanis have lost their trust in the government through years of political infighting and no improvements in their living standards.


On Thursday, voters cast their ballots for two legislators to represent their constituency. 5,121 candidates are contesting for the federal legislature and 12,695 for the provinces.

PTI chairman Gohar Ali Khan

PTI chairman Gohar Ali Khan has won his National Assembly seat in a constituency in Buner, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province. Ali Khan was elected chairman in December, nominated by PTI founder Imran Khan

Impact of the result

Pakistan’s dollar-denominated government bonds slipped by two cents as election results in the country slowly started to come in, with the September 2025 bond dropping to 85 cents on the dollar

Fun fact

No prime minister has completed a full five-year tenure in Pakistan’s 75-year history – a trend extended with the removal of Imran Khan, who lost a no-confidence vote on Sunday.

Nawaz Shariff

PMLN leader Nawaz Sharif was trailing PTI politician Yasmin Rashid who is currently in prison. After 70 percent of the votes had been counted, she was in a clear lead in the Lahore constituency. 

Asad Qaiser

Asad Qaiser, PTI leader, emerges victorious in NA-19, Swabi, with 115,635 votes. JUI-F’s Fazal Ali secures second place with 45,567 votes.

PML-N’s Syed Sajid Mehdi clinches victory in NA-157, Vehari-II, with 99,332 votes. PTI-backed candidate Sabeen Safdar comes in second with 79,996 votes.

Syed Sajid Mehdi

Shocking victory

Jailed Imran Khan's PTI showed ‘shocking victory’, according to the unofficial results cited by Bloomberg, leaving behind Nawaz Sharif's PML-N and asked him to ‘accept the defeat’.


Jailed Imran Khan's PTI wins five seats so far. Nawaz Sharif's PML-N wins four seats. Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari's PPP wins three seats.

Thank you for watching

Enjoy the updates